DUI ATTORNEY IN HENDERSON, NEVADA

Attorneys BRIAN VASEK and MARYAM VASEK frequently assist driving under the influence (DUI) clients in Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, and Henderson, Nevada. VASEK LAW also serves DUI clients in Mesquite, Laughlin, and Boulder City. When consulting with new clients about driving under the influence, some of the most frequent questions that Attorneys Brian and Maryam receive include the following:

  • What if this is my first offense?
  • What if my "BAC" (blood alcohol content) was really high?
  • What if the car was parked?
  • What if I had a prescription?
  • How will this impact my driving privileges?
  • When will my driver's license be suspended?
  • Will I have to install a breath ignition interlock device on my car?

VASEK LAW can answer these questions and many more. Attorneys Brian and Maryam have helped countless DUI clients in Southern Nevada. However, not every DUI case is the same and the outcome of the case may depend upon many factors, such as where the case was filed, what judge is handling the case, what prosecuting attorney is handling the case, a person's prior criminal history, and possible defenses. A DUI conviction may result in consequences for some jobs, such as the revocation of some professional licenses. A conviction may also result in other consequences, such as the installation of a breath interlock ignition device in a person's car (BIID). A BIID is now very common for all DUI cases that occur after October 1, 2018. It is important to hire an experienced, knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to navigate these consequences and find weaknesses in prosecuting attorney's case. An attorney may also discover witnesses or evidence that the police missed. Speak with Attorneys Brian and Maryam to discuss your options and before taking further action.

DUI CHARGES?

CONTACT VASEK LAW

DUI "101"

Content Under Development.


PENALTIES

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE is an "enhanceable" offense and a Misdemeanor for any first or second offense within seven (7) years, which is punishable by up to six (6) months in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000. For a first offense, the person must spend a minimum of two (2) days in jail. Additional jail time is uncommon. Most persons convicted of driving under the influence "first offense" are ordered to complete counseling and pay a small fine. If the blood alcohol content of the person was greater than .18, the person may be ordered to complete treatment for alcohol or substance abuse. For a second offense within seven (7) years, the person must spend a minimum of ten (10) days in jail. Other requirements may include a fine and more comprehensive treatment or counseling for alcohol or substance abuse. A third offense within seven (7) years is a Category B Felony and punishable by one (1) to six (6) years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000. "FELONY DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE" is a non-probationable offense, meaning that the judge is required by law to send the person to prison for at least one (1) year. However, an offender may be eligible for "Felony DUI Court" in lieu of prison. (NRS 484C.110NRS 484C.350NRS 484C.400NRS 484C.420)

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE RESULTING IN SUBSTANTIAL BODILY INJURY is a Category B Felony and punishable by two (2) to twenty (20) years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000. DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE RESULTING IN SUBSTANTIAL BODILY INJURY is also a non-probationable offense, meaning that the judge is required by law to send the person to prison for at least two (2) years. (NRS 484C.430).


 

WHAT MAKES VASEK LAW DIFFERENT?

READ MORE HERE

MEET THE VASEKS

Attorneys BRIAN VASEK and MARYAM VASEK founded VASEK LAW to provide criminal defense clients the time, attention, and care they deserve. They are committed to achieving the best results possible for each client. READ MORE ABOUT VASEK LAW HERE. READ WHAT CLIENTS HAVE TO SAY HERE.